## **DECLARATION of MAYORS ON JUST TRANSITION**

We, the Mayors,

**Recognizing** that Europe's commitment to the Paris Agreement and the European strategic long-term vision for a climate neutral economy by 2050 will entail the decarbonization of the European economy,

**Stressing** that Europe's transition towards a net zero emissions economy should not happen at the expense of the coal and lignite mining regions, which for decades have propelled the European economy,

**Recognizing** the consistency of the Just Transition with European values and cohesion,

**Expressing** our distress that coal and lignite mining regions across Europe will face unprecedented social and economic challenges as a result Europe's transition towards a net zero emissions economy,

**Emphasizing** that urgent action is needed as several coal and lignite mining regions across Europe are already experiencing the impact from coal plant retirements and mine closures,

**Acknowledging** the inter-linkage between the Paris Agreement, the International Labor Organization's "Guidelines for a Just Transition towards environmentally sustainable economies and societies for all", and the United Nations 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development,

**Underlining** the need to integrate the notion of just transition horizontally into the European decision-making process, and recognizing the important role of the new Multiannual Financial Framework in this process,

**we hereby affirm** our commitment towards the Forum of Mayors on Just Transition as a powerful mechanism for coordination and cooperative action between mayors and local leaders and:

**We encourage** national governments to engage in transparent and inclusive dialogue with all regional stakeholders in lignite/mining regions in order to prepare transition plans and include them in energy, climate and sustainable development strategies.

**We recognize** that local communities have to be included in all transition processes from the beginning.

**We underline** the importance of transparency and consultation with local governments in the European Commission's' "Coal Regions in Transition Platform" initiative and the need for expanding to include more regions, while also strengthening its institutional capacity by including more stakeholders from the civil society and trade unions,

**We urge** that appropriate mechanisms are made available at the national and European levels for capacity building and to ensure direct access and scaled-up financial support for the implementation of just transition, including provisions for the workers, enhancing the adaptive capacity of local communities and shifting the local and regional economies towards sustainable economic activities.

We welcome the proposal of the European Union institutions for a Just Transition Fund, under the condition that it will be adequately funded and will be used exclusively for the support of local communities and the development of sustainable economic activities and jobs creation in coal and lignite mining regions, noting that it should not replace existing funds for the just transition, but should complement them and seed further European and national financing,

## **DECLARATION of MAYORS ON JUST TRANSITION**

We call on the European Council, the European Parliament, the European Commission and the Energy Community to strengthen their support for just transition, so that coal regions benefit more directly from European funding.

We commit ourselves to continued action at the local level on just transition and to supporting each other in creating a sustainable future for the benefit of all our citizens.

Adopted unanimously in September 2019 in the city of Weisswasser/O.L., Germany and declared by:

Mayor	Municipality	Country (and region)
Edin Delic	Lukavac	Bosnia & Herzegovina (Tuzla)
Elza Velichkova	Bobov Dol	Bulgaria (Kyustendil)
Kamila Bláhová	Litvínov	Czech Republic (Ustecky)
Torsten Pötzsch	Weißwasser/O.L.	
		Germany (Lusatia)
Achim Junker Christine Herntier	Boxberg/O.L.	Germany (Lusatia)
Frank Lehmann	Spremberg Lauta	Germany (Lusatia) Germany (Lusatia)
Jörg Krakow	Peitz	Germany (Lusatia)
Bengt Kanzler	Vetschau	Germany (Lusatia)
Thomas Zenker	Großräschen	Germany (Lusatia)
Peter Jeschke	Schenkendöbern	Germany (Lusatia)
Gottfried Richter	Kleine Elster	Germany (Lusatia)
Thomas Leberecht	Lohsa	Germany (Lusatia)
Birgit Zuchold	Welzow	Germany (Lusatia)
Fred Mahro	Guben	Germany (Lusatia)
Karsten Schreiber	Kolkwitz	Germany (Lusatia)
Tobias Hentschel	Burg	Germany (Lusatia)
Helmut Krautz	Groß Düben	Germany (Lusatia)
Reinhard Bork	Schleife	Germany (Lusatia)
Waldemar Locke	Trebendorf	Germany (Lusatia)
Ralf Brehmer	Rietschen	Germany (Lusatia)
Wolfgang Katzula	Groß Schacksdorf-Simmersdorf	Germany (Lusatia)
Simone Taubenek	Forst	Germany (Lusatia)
Anthimos Bitakis	Amyntaio	Greece (W. Macedonia)
Vassilios Giannakis	Florina	Greece (W. Macedonia)
Panagiotis Plakentas	Eordaia	Greece (W. Macedonia)
Lazaros Maloutas	Kozani	Greece (W. Macedonia)
Michał Bieda	Bytom	Poland (Upper Silesia)
Piotr Korytkowski	Konin	Poland (Greater Poland)
Mariusz Musiałowski	Kleczew	Poland (Greater Poland)
Mariusz Śpiewok	Gliwice	Poland (Upper Silesia)
Vasile Jurca	Petrila	Romania (Jiu Valley)
Nicolae Dunca	Aninoasa	Romania (Jiu Valley)
Tiberiu Iacob-Ridzi	Petrosani	Romania (Jiu Valley)
Lucian Resmerită	Lupeni	Romania (Jiu Valley)
Igor Golubovic	Pljevlja	Montenegro (Nothern)
Katarína Macháčková	Prievidza	Slovakia (Upper Nitra, Trenčín Region)
František Tám	Bojnice	Slovakia (Upper Nitra, Trenčín Region)
Silvia Grúberová	Handlová	Slovakia (Upper Nitra, Trenčín Region)
Dušan Šimka	Nováky	Slovakia (Upper Nitra, Trenčín Region)
Jozef Božik	Partizánske	Slovakia (Upper Nitra, Trenčín Region)